Skip to content

김민주 Kim Min Joo

May 17, 2010

I’m very excited to introduce Kim Min Joo, a Korean artist.  We first saw her art work at http://www.artspace-hyun.co.kr and were immediately drawn to her subject matter as well as her style for this series of paintings.   Take a look, I think you’ll agree, she has a voice of her own and her artwork stands out in a crowded pool of incredible artists here in Korea.

Interview Status: We’re so very happy to provide our first official interview.  We’d like to take the time to thank Kim Min Joo for allowing us a glimpse into a the mind of an artist.

1) What are your favorite art pieces in this series and why?

” I like all of my pieces because I draw whenever I want to draw.
But I think I don’t have the piece which I really am satisfied.
I have to try more. ”

2) What are the themes of your art work?

No answer.

3) What inspired you to start these art works?

” One hot day, I was just looking at fish(without thinking) which were swimming in the water.   At that moment, I experienced that I couldn’t tell whether I am the Fish or the Fish is me.   I started to draw these series while I was feeling  like I was swimming  in the water and that I was the one  who broke through the boundary. ”

4) Please tell us about your personal background. Which city were you born? Which university did you attend? What was your major? Anything else you’d like to share with us?

” I was born in Seoul.   I graduated from Seoul National University major in Oriental painting.   I have bachelors  and  a masters degree in Oriental painting . ”

5) When did you know you were interested in art?

” I always liked to draw paintings when I was young, I was always interested in Art. ”

6) What do you love most about art?

” I like all parts of Art, I am always impressed and admire it. ”

7) What inspires you to create a new design?

” I try to be interested  in very small parts when I’m living, I think I am not a sensitive, dedicated person, especially when I am drawing traditional oriental paintings these days. ”

8) Tell us how your designs are created from the beginning to the end. Is there a specific process you use?

” Most I use changJi which is A Korean paper.  This is thicker than Chinese drawing paper and I can put on more, so I can do expressions which are of high density.   At first, I do the process kind of coating called ” agyoposu  ” which means ‘glue catcher or glue gunner’   ->  I   build up coloring using flour color. ”

9) What advice can you give to other artists?

” well..^^ ”

10) Who has influenced you the most and how?

” It’s hard to say one person because I am affected  by many places here and there.   All people  have their good sides and bad sides. ”

Bernard Pivot Questions:

If god exists, what would you like him or her to say to you when you see him or her?

” I would like to see just smiling without saying.

What sound do you love?

” I like sounds related water- tide sound, rainfall falling on the water, the sound that makes flutters. (flutter kicks) ”

What profession other than yours would you like to attempt?”

” I want to be a writer. I really love books, but I am not good at writing. ”

What is your favorite word?”

” Walking around, rest, talking.  ”

What is your favorite curseword?”

” babo (light hearted version of idiot) ”

What turns you on?”

” friends ”

What turns you off?”

” errand ”

What sound or noise do you hate?”

” scolding ”

1) “What are your favorite art pieces in this series and why?
????????????????????????

??? ?? ??? ??? ?? ?? ??? ??? ?? ??? ?? ??????. ??? ?? ??? ?? ? ????? ???? ??? ?? ????. ??? ? ???????.

2) “What are the major themes of these art works?”
???????????????? ??
3) “What inspired you to start these art works?”
????????????????

?? ??? ??? ? ?? ??? ????? ???? ??? ??? ??? ?? ????. ?? ?? ?? ????? ???? ??? ??? ????? ??? ?? ?????. ??? ??? ??? ? ? ? ?? ???? ??? ???? ??? ???? ??? ???? ?????.

4) Please tell us about your personal background. Which city were you born? Which university did you attend? What was your major? Anything else you’d like to share with us?
???? ???? ??? ????? ?????????. ?????? ?????? ?? ??? ??????? ??? ?????? ??? ??? ???? ????

???? ????, ????? ???? ??, ??? ??????.

5) When did you know you were interested in art??? ??? ??? ??? ?? ?????

??? ??? ? ?????? ????, ??? ??? ?? ??? ?????.

6) What do you love most about art???? ?? ?? ??? ??????

??? ?? ??? ???? ? ????? ???? ????.

7) What inspires you to create a new design?
??? ???? ??? ???? ????? ???????

??? ? ??? ????? ??? ??? ??? ?? ?? ????? ??? ??? ?? ? ????. ??? ??? ?? ????? ???? ??? ????.

8) Tell us how your designs are created from the beginning to the end. Is there a specific process you use?
???? ????? ??? ???? ???? ??? ?????. ??? ?? ??? ??? ???????

?? ?? ‘??’?? ??? ??? ?????. ????? ???? ??? ???? ?? ?? ??? ?????. ‘????’?? ??? ????? ????? ??, ? ?? ??? ???? ??? ??????.

9) What advice can you give to other artists?

???.. ^^

10) Who has influenced you the most and how?
???? ?? ?? ???? ?? ???? ??? ????

?? ??? ?????? ?????. ?????? ??? ? ?? ?? ?????. ?? ?????? ???? ?????.

These are famous questions by Bernard Pivot, we enjoy asking them and hope you enjoy answering them for us:
??? Bernard Pivot ??? ??? ??? ??????. ??? ???? ?????, ???? ?????? ???.

“If god exists, what would you like him or her to say to you when you see him or her?”
?? ?? ?????, ??? ?? ???? ?? ?? ???

??? ??,, ??? ????? ?? ? ????.

“What sound do you love?”
?? ??? ???????

?? ??? ??? ?????. ????? ??, ??? ???? ???, ???? ??

“What profession other than yours would you like to attempt?”
??? ??? ?? ?? ??? ????? ??????

??? ??? ?? ?? ??? ???? ????. ?? ?? ????? ???? ????.

“What is your favorite word?”
??? ?? (????/??)???? ?(??)??

??, ??, ??

“What is your favorite curseword?”
? ?? ?? ???? ???

??

“What turns you on?”
??? ??? ??? ????

???

“What turns you off?”
??? ??? ???? ????

???

“What sound or noise do you hate?”
?? ??? ??? ?? ??????

??? ??

From → Artists 2010

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

